Breaking News
Friday, March 29, 2013

Gmail supports 6 new Indic languages on Basic phones including Tamil

1:06 PM
Gmail now supports 6 new Indic languages on Feature phone browsers, so users who are using basic model mobile phones now able to read Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, and Telugu from their handset browser.

According to Gmail official blogpost "Indian culture is diverse, with more than 100 languages and thousands of alphabets used every day.Starting today, we are rolling out support for 6 Indic languages in Gmail on the feature phone browser: Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, and Telugu."

To change you Gmail display language follow the below steps:
  • Click the gear icon  in the upper right, then select Settings.
  • At the top of the page, select a language from the Gmail display language drop-down menu in the Language section.
  • Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.
Now your Gmail interface will appear in the language of you have selected above. Note  Gmail's display language doesn't affect the language in which your messages are sent and received.
[via Official Gmail Blog]


Post a Comment

1. Do not include links in comments as they will not be published after moderation !
2. Make sure that you click "subscribe by mail" to get notified when someone reply to your comments.
3. Please do not spam Spam comments will be deleted immediately upon our review.
4.Only English comments will be accepted.

Toggle Footer